Rev Fr Emmanuel Sarpong at Obuasi. - Reisverslag uit Obuasi, Ghana van Phia Oostenbach - WaarBenJij.nu Rev Fr Emmanuel Sarpong at Obuasi. - Reisverslag uit Obuasi, Ghana van Phia Oostenbach - WaarBenJij.nu

Rev Fr Emmanuel Sarpong at Obuasi.

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Phia

08 Augustus 2017 | Ghana, Obuasi

I was born on the thirteenth day of July, 1979 to Mrs. Theresa Marfo and the late Mr. Jude Ahenkora Marfo of blessed memory. I had my kindergarten education at modern international school at Asokwa, Kumasi (Ghana). I had my primary education at New Asafo L/A Primary School, Amakom, Kumasi.

My dad died when I was in primary six. After primary six I continued with my Junior high school education at St. Theresa’s R/C Junior High at Asawasi, Kumasi. I have four siblings who are all females.

After the completion of my junior high school education I had the desire and vocation to become a catholic priest. In 1995, I had an admission at St. Hubert’s Minor Seminary to begin my seminary formation. Apart from the core subjects, I studied French, Christian Religious Studies and History as my elective subjects.

After five years of minor seminary formation I proceeded to St. Paul’s Seminary, Sowutuom, Accra, Ghana for three years. The first year was for my spiritual year formation and the following two years were for my philosophical studies. From St. Paul’s, I continued to St. Peter’s Regional Seminary, Pedu in Cape Coast (Ghana) for four year theological studies. Having successfully undergone the formation process I was ordained a deacon and subsequently ordained a catholic priest on July 25th, 2009 by Most Rev. Gabriel Justice Yaw Anokye, now the arch Bishop for the Catholic diocese of Kumasi.

As a priest, my first appointment was at the St. Thomas Cathedral Obuasi where I served an associate priest. I had my national service at St. Thomas R/C Junior High School as an I.C.T. teacher. I have been teaching there after my service. After two and half years in the priesthood my I was appointed as the Diocesan youth Chaplain. Six months later I was appointed a pastor at St. Paul the Apostle Pastoral Unit, Kwabenakwa, Obuasi.

HOW I BECAME A MEMBER OF THE FOUDATION AFIA
It all started when I was serving at the cathedral where I had the opportunity to meet Phia Oostenbach when she visited Ghana. As teachers it became obvious that we had the interest and the education of children at heart, especially the less fortunate ones. Upon my Bishop’s approval I became a member of the Foundation Afia. Since then, we have been working to do our best to contribute our quota towards the realization of the dream of the foundation.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Phia

Actief sinds 30 Mei 2010
Verslag gelezen: 388
Totaal aantal bezoekers 59931

Voorgaande reizen:

08 Augustus 2017 - 30 November 2017

Afia&You heeft een droom!

14 Oktober 2015 - 05 November 2015

Foundation Afia supports young people

08 Oktober 2014 - 30 Oktober 2014

Stichting Afiia: Nieuwe wegen bewandelen in Ghana!

09 Oktober 2013 - 31 Oktober 2013

Ghana 2013, een nieuwe uitdaging

03 Oktober 2012 - 25 Oktober 2012

Ghana here I come again!

07 Oktober 2011 - 28 Oktober 2011

Mijn tweede reis

Landen bezocht: